Featured Headlines

Police officers statewide earn MADD Heroes awards

Macomb-based Illinois State Police trooper picks up highest honor.

By Dan Campana

The Illinois chapter of Mothers Against Drunk Driving recently honored nearly 30 police officers from around the state for their work to combat intoxicated motorists.

Officers, volunteers and others were celebrated during MADD’s annual Heroes Banquet held in Springfield in September.

Illinois State Police Trooper Cory Fox, who works in Macomb-based District 14, received the night’s most prestigious recognition with the Brian McMillen award winner. He was called a “DUI enforcer who represents integrity and service above self and excellence in the ‘Campaign to Eliminate Drunk Driving,’” according to MADD officials. The award is named for Trooper McMillen who died Oct. 28, 2007, following a traffic crash involving two drunk drivers.

Also receiving a special honor was Bloomington Police Officer John Fermon, who received the Michael Collins Humanitarian Award. Fermon has the department’s most DUI arrests since 1999, including a record of 107 in 2016.

MADD Heroes Award winners included:

  • Bannockburn Police Officer Dennis Sears
  • Belvidere Police Officer Joseph McDermott
  • Carbondale Police Officer Benjamin Maether
  • Carol Stream Police Officers Daniel Stafiej and Hilary Mabbitt
  • Cook County Sheriff’s Deputy William Hoefler
  • Darien Police Officer John “Austin” Jump
  • DeKalb County Sheriff’s Deputy Dave Christiansen
  • Elgin Police Officer Paul Dublinski
  • Grundy County Sheriff’s Deputies Gregory C. Butterfield and Aaron Cory
  • Highland Park Police Officer Travis Dragicevich
  • Illinois State Police Troopers Reimundo Acosta, Eric David, Glenn Latronico, Gerald Mason and Lucas Sniady (District Chicago)
  • Illinois State Police Trooper Cory Fox (District 14)
  • Lake in the Hills Police Officer Adam Carson
  • Lake Zurich Police Officer Dion Thiergood
  • Lincolnwood Police Officer Justin Lauria
  • Naperville Police Officer Tracy Heusinkveld
  • North Pekin Police Officer Bryon Martin
  • Riverside Police Officer Joseph Mahanna
  • Seneca Police Officer Michael Hetelle

“Now more than ever, we at MADD feel that it is paramount that we support the men and women of the law enforcement community,” Sam Canzoneri, state executive director of MADD Illinois, said, adding the banquet “is an acknowledgement and thank you for the efforts of our law enforcement heroes.”

MADD Project Manager Trisha Clegg said the organization works with law enforcement throughout Illinois on roadside safety checks, underage drinking resources, ignition lock laws and death notification training.